Time for some R & R

It’s the Easter holidays and I found myself with a whole day entirely to myself. After a small dither (I’m not used to lots of time to myself) I found myself with a desire to bake.

image

At Christmas time I’d been given a present from Next of a biscuit tin with a biscuit mix inside from my good friend Kirsty. I don’t usually make biscuits but I decided to give these a try as it only required 64g of butter, 10ml of water and 10-25ml of milk.

The smell as I made them was delicious and the raw (please don’t judge me) mixture was very sweet and vanillary. I would imagine they are similar to a butter cookie. I rolled out the mixture after chilling in the fridge
for 2 hours and baked for 10 minutes.

The second batch of biscuits was made following a Dutch recipe. At Christmas I was given the gift of a packet of Dutch mixed spice with a Dutch recipe. Subsequently I had to translate the ingredients from Dutch to English. I didn’t bother too much with the instructions though!

image

Speculaasjes
Ingredients
250g flour
150g butter
140g dark brown sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons mixed spice
4 tablespoons of milk

The how to
1) Heat the oven to 170°c. Mix the flour, baking powder, sugar and spices together.
2) Combine the butter and milk and add to the dry ingredients.
3) Stir well and chill in the fridge for an hour.
4) Make small balls of the mixture and then push these down once on a baking tray.
5) Cook for 10 minutes for soft biscuits and 15 for crunchy.
6) Enjoy for elevenses as I did with a coffee.

image

Leave a Reply

