Rainy days & Mondays don’t always get me down.

Sunday night is here again and I feel exhausted! I also feel like I’m writing this blog post with a little more wisdom.

I’ve gone back to listening to Radio One during my 6:30 drive to school and Nick Grimshaw always talks about avocados and how much he loves them. It got me thinking about how I’ve always avoided them. This weekend I decided to embrace them. I started off simply by making guacamole.

Ingredients
1 avocado
Juice of 1/2 a lime
1 tomato finely chopped
1 red chilli finely chopped

How to
Basically just mash it all together!!

image

My sister & brother-in-law were over last night so we served the guacamole with tortilla chips, salad and homemade burgers. The burger recipe is below.

Ingredients
(serves 4 – 8 burgers)
775g mince beef
1 red onion finely chopped
2 crushed cloves of garlic
1 oxo cube
1 tablespoon of tomato puree
1 finely chopped red chilli

How to
1) Pre-heat the oven to 200°c.
2) Place the mince, chilli, garlic and onion in a bowl and mix.
3) Squeeze in the tomato puree and crumble over the oxo cube. Stir again until well combined.
4) Create 8 equal individual balls of the mince mixture and press into the burger press.
5) Cook for roughly 15-20 minutes.

image

Tonight we’re having the guacamole with roast chicken, new potato & parsnip wedges and salad. The perfect end to a rainy Sunday.

image

This blog post is for my wonderful work friends Trisha and Becki who went out of their way on Friday to cheer me up! Thanks ladies. Thanks also to Queenie too for reading my rant!

image

Picture courtesy of a Google image search.

I am that nerd and I do love you guys waaaay more than math class.

Leave a Reply

