GBBO Technical Challenge. Week 1: Angel Food Cake.

I imagine that just about every baking blogger who watches the Great British Bake Off will be trying out a few, if not all, of the technical bakes as the series progresses. This is going to be my new challenge!

This morning I set to work making Mary Berry’s Angel Food Cake to take to a family bbq. I found the recipe on the BBC Food website and followed it to the letter as I was a little scared by it! Any recipe with way more eggs than flour always seems like it could go wrong in so many ways.

Mary Berry’s Angel Food Cake recipe

Here are a few photos from this morning’s baking. Yes I did take a small slice. I needed to check for quality obviously!
image
My new cake tin especially for this occasion. Not an angel food cake tin but it worked!
image
This recipe is ace as it uses both parts of the egg so there is no waste.
image
Folding in the flour and sugar.
image
The mixture about to go into the oven.
image
Cooling upside down.
image
Out of the tin!
image
Ok, so I had a small slice! It’s really light in texture and colour. It might be a little to dark on the outside but it doesn’t affect the taste. Perfect!
image
Making the lemon curd using up the egg yolks and lemons.
image
Almost finished!
image
Over a litre of lemon curd!
image
The entire tub of whipped cream!
image
Home-made lemon curd drizzle.
image
The finished product with passion fruit drizzle.

I really enjoyed making this and although it doesn’t 100% match the GBBO cake it’s pretty close! I also managed to tidy while it was cooling!
image

Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

