My first commission!

It’s finally happened! I’m being paid to make a cake!! I got up at 7:45 this morning to make a cake for my friend Zoe’s partner to take to a first birthday party. I was given a lot of design freedom too, with Stan stipulating it was a Minnie Mouse theme and for it to cost between £6 – £10.

I set to work designing it, costing it up & then redesigning it on the spot!

Ingredients
10 eggs (mine were medium free range and weighed 575g in total)
575g butter
575g caster sugar
575g self raising flour
4 teaspoons vanilla extract
A pinch of baking powder

For the decoration
1 pack of white 1kg regal ice ready to roll icing
2 packs of red icing (250g a pack)
2 packs of normal Cadbury’s Dairy milk buttons
1 pack of giant Dairy milk buttons
Jam
Writing icing
Icing sugar to dust

How to
Regular readers of my blog will know the foolproof method for my cakes but I’ll recap briefly before focusing on the decoration.

1) Weigh the eggs, with shells, to calculate the weight of the butter sugar and flour.
image
2) Crack the eggs into a bowl and beat them gently with a fork before adding the vanilla extract and stirring in.
image
image
3) Cream the butter and sugar together.
4) Add the flour, baking powder and egg mixture slowly ensuring that the ingredients are all combining.
image
5) I poured some into an 8″ circular cake tin and baked this first for around 20 minutes. I then used a 6″ by 8″ roasting tin covered in magic baking parchment and baked this at 160°c to get a more even bake and this took around 30 minutes, but I checked on it by inserting a clean knife until the blade came out without cake mix.
image
image
6) When the circular cake was cooled I brushed it with raspberry jam and then laid the rolled, white icing over the top.
I cut a number one from the red icing and using small balls of white icing put these on the one.
Then I used writing icing for the words and used giant chocolate buttons for the faces and small ones for the ears. Going one step further I made a red ribbon and spotted it with white writing icing.
image
image
image
image
image
7) For the bigger cake I rolled out red icing (I dusted my pastry mat with icing sugar to stop it sticking and then simply used a moist pastry brush to get back the red colour) and placed it over the cake which I had again covered in jam.
I cut out circles of white icing for the spots, cutting some in half for the edges and placed these on using a tiny amount of water.
image
image
image
image
8) I placed the circular cake on top and then rolled balls of red and white icing for a Minnie Mouse necklace effect and then stuck in a cupcake flag.
image
image
image
image

image
image
9) I then decorated the board with more Mickeys and voila! Cake made!
image
It’s not perfect but it feels close enough for me!

Leave a Reply

