Here comes the summer sun.

After a busy, but blissful weekend I am now sniffling on the sofa, feeling sorry for myself with tissues at hand & a vitamin c drink. I hate summer colds!

Anyway, the rest of the weekend has been great. After a 60 hour week (we had the dreaded Ofsted call on Tuesday) I decided this weekend was going to be a totally school free zone!

We had my family & my sister’s new boyfriend over for a bbq. Of course this meant buying a new bbq! We decided on a menu of homemade beef burgers, pulled pork in brioche buns, salad & loaded potato skins.

For the burgers we used 500g of minced beef, a red onion finely diced, a tablespoon of breadcrumbs, a tablespoon of tomato puree, an egg, worcestershire sauce (to taste) & black pepper (to taste) and then mixed it all up. It made 7 burgers in total which took roughly 20 minutes to cook on a hot bbq.

image

To make the mixture into burgers I rolled a small amount of mixture into a ball and then I used magic baking parchment between the mince & the burger press.

image

image

image

image

For the pulled pork we cooked 250g of pork on high in the slow cooker with (these are not actual measurements, just estimates as I just grabbed them from the cupboard) a tablespoon of; ketchup, sugar, cider vinegar, soy sauce & a teaspoon of five spice.

image

The result – another perfect slow cooker recipe!

For desert I made a peach crumble. I used 4 very ripe peaches, skinned & cut into eighths with a tablespoon of sugar & a teaspoon of vanilla essence. I cooked the peaches on 180°c while I made the crumble mixture. The crumble mixture was equal parts butter, flour & sugar, mixed by hand into crumbs.

image

image

image

image

I then placed the crumble mix on top & cooked until the crumble had browned. It smelled amazing, the peaches were soft & the juices had run into the crumble without making it soggy. Served with ice cream it was the perfect end to a hot day.

image

The loaded potato skins were made by first microwaving 5 large potatoes for 5 minutes either side & baking for 1 hour at 180°c. I then cut them in half, scooped the potato out into a bowl & added sour cream, chopped spring onions & 2 cooked rashers of bacon. I then grated cheese over the top & cooked in the oven until the cheese had melted & browned.

image

image

We then were very cool & played the Pointless board game. Good times!

Happy Sunday evening!

Leave a Reply

