Baking therapy

It’s 11am on a Saturday & I’ve not only been to the supermarket for baking supplies but I’ve baked 2 batches of 2 different cupcakes & completed the housework. Waking up at 4 this morning may have had something to do with this though…

My first idea was for peanut butter & ‘jelly’ cupcakes. I spent a fair amount of time researching recipes & eventually decided on this one from Hello Magazine.

Instead of injecting the jam as the recipe suggests I decided to layer it between 2 spoonfuls of cake mixture.

image

These are the finished product. Tomorrow I will mix mascapone with peanut butter to create a frosting.

For my second batch I decided upon carrot cake cupcakes as my wonderful friend & colleague Jo loves carrot cake.

I used the BBC website for this.

image

Grated carrots – such a fun job!

image

The dry ingredients.

image

The mixture – I used muscavado sugar as I’d run out of caster sugar!

image

The finished products waiting to be frosted.

It was a really easy recipe to follow & the results were light, fluffy cakes. I’ve made up an orange mascapone frosting to top them off which I made from mascapone, juice from a quarter of an orange & icing sugar to thicken & sweeten.

A very successful morning of baking & for me therapy! Happy weekend.

Leave a Reply

