Happy New Year!

Happy new year! It’s a glorious morning & I’m sitting in our kitchen listening to Elbow, sipping bucks fizz & taking a break from preparing lunch for my family who are due to arrive soon.

We had a quiet evening with good friends playing Scene It & Scrabble before watching Jools Holland. Do you know what, it was one of the best NYE we’ve had since we hosted our own.

Today for lunch I’m preparing baked camembert using the brie baker that was a gift from my parents, sweet & sour pork, chicken chow mein with various Chinese snacks to be followed with pavlova.

My family is here so I’ll finish this later!

image
I served the baked camembert with celery, tortilla chips & caramelised onion chutney. The brie baker was brilliant & kept the cheese warm & runny. Mine came from Robert Dyas & includes a knife & a metal stand. It was a truly inspired gift.

I made the sweet & sour sauce following this recipe.
image
I then fried the pork with some olive oil & put the pork into the sauce & baked for an hour. I also cooked chicken chow mein using a supermarket sauce as I knew I’d be pushed for time. As usual I cooked too much so lunch is sorted all week.

For desert I used a Magic Pavlova mix (Google Magic pavlova & you’ll find it!) which had been given to me by my friend Kath. I was very pleased with the results even though it was just water & sugar added to the powder! This was served with cream & fruit.
image
We then played lots of silly games, listened to music and had a drink or 2. It was like Christmas day all over again!!

I hope you’ve all had amazing new year’s days & wish you a very happy 2013! With only 3 months & 5 days until our wedding I’m sure I’ll be very busy!

Leave a Reply

