These are a few of my favourite things!

Today has been all about shopping, baking and weddings – 3 of my favourite things!

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts we’re doing our wedding on a budget. We’ve set a budget for every aspect and mostly come out under. One thing I was determined to do myself was the flowers for myself and my bridesmaids. I bought artificial flowers from Dunelm Mill and some lace from Hobbycraft and created my own arrangements. It was a lot of fun!

Here are the finished products;

20121020-152916.jpg

I’ve also been busy painting gift boxes for my bridesmaids and mother of the bride/mother of the groom gifts. I’ve had jewellery designed by my friend’s sister which uses elements of our vintage theme. These are the bridesmaid’s boxes as their jewellery is going to be quite bulky.

20121020-153618.jpg

20121020-163647.jpg

20121020-163727.jpg

The smaller boxes are for the mum’s gifts.

I had another go at macarons today too. I followed the same recipe (Mary Berry’s macarons) but this time I ground the almonds even finer using a pestle and mortar and drew circles on the parchment using a larger sized nozzle.

They turned out a lot bigger but my previous issues seem to have been resolved so next time I just need to focus on the size and making them smaller.

20121020-163043.jpg

Before I even started my baking and painting, I visited my favourite shop in West Malling, Fragolina. It’s really a boutique that is hidden away but it’s a treasure trove of all things kitsch. It was their first birthday today and for the first 10 customers who spent over £15 they received a free gift in an awesome canvas bag. I purchased the cute macaron trinket box and the scarf and received a baking book in my gift bag. It couldn’t have been a more perfect start to my day!

20121020-162817.jpg

Please check out their website; Fragolina

We’re off out for curry with the h2b’s family so my day will be concluding as perfectly as it started. Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

