My first attempt at macarons.

To begin I’m going to try and help answer the great macaron/macaroon question using the following website; macarons vs macaroons I’m still not 100% sure as the recipe that follows is from the brilliant Mary Berry and if she calls them macaroons maybe they are! Anyway…

I’ve spent my morning baking macarons for school tomorrow as it’s my birthday this week and it’s customary to bring in a treat for the staff room.

I used Mary Berry’s recipe
To make the macarons as it’s my first attempt and I wanted something simple & easy to follow.

I have to admit by the time it came to combining the ingredients I was a little anxious as my consistency was thicker than the ‘shaving foam’ mentioned in the recipe & I honestly thought it wasn’t going to work.

20120923-110934.jpg

I added yellow food colouring to the mixture and carefully spooned it into a piping bag.

I piped swirls onto my magic baking paper (Lakeland Magic Non-Stick Liner) and left for an hour as the recipe suggested. I was then able to smooth the mixture as it was no longer tacky.

20120923-111007.jpg

I baked them for 10 minutes until I could move them easily. I then left them in the oven with the door open and heat off for 5 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack.

20120923-111233.jpg

When they had cooled (this only took 20 minutes) I whisked some double cream with a spoonful of icing sugar and some red colouring paste to make a thick cream. I put about a teaspoon of the cream on the base of the macaron and sandwiched together.

20120923-111447.jpg (beautifully modelled by the h2b)
I tried sprinkling with some purple glitter but it was a little clumpy and then I put them in a cupcake box I had previously purchased from Hobbycraft.

20120923-111539.jpg

Hopefully these will go down well tomorrow, we have sampled one and it was pretty good although as neither of us have had them before we can’t tell if they’re right. I’ll be taking some to a friend’s later so all will be revealed!

Next time I would use finer ground almonds, a stencil to create even circles and smooth the tops down.

One thought on “My first attempt at macarons.

Leave a Reply

