Savoury muffins part 2

I finished yesterday’s blog post with the promise of savoury muffins. I return, via a trip to Heathrow having dropped off my future brother-in-law, having fulfilled this.

Meet my breakfast muffins.

20120826-144502.jpg

I made the base for the muffins following this recipe: Base for savoury muffins

Helped my the husband to be who was my very able assistant in this, I then added 2 rashers of bacon (diced and fried), a tin of beans (150g tin) and 5 cocktail sausages (cooked and quartered).

20120826-144803.jpg

20120826-144829.jpg

20120826-144838.jpg

It sounds odd & extravagant but the small quantities of each ingredient meant that each of the 12 muffins I made had enough of each without being too much.
Once the mixture was combined I topped half with mushroom slices and all with a small amount of grated cheese.

I baked them for 20 minutes and then poked them with a knife to check they were cooked all the way through. I was a little worried by the bean juice but surprisingly they were exactly the right consistency!

20120826-145415.jpg

20120826-145424.jpg

This success has definitely proved that I am able to add my own twists to recipes.

Leave a Reply

