Savoury muffins

I have a confession to make. Please don’t judge me. Sometimes I just don’t fancy something sweet. I’ll happily bake a batch of cupcakes for school or for friends but sometimes all I want is a savoury treat. There, it’s out in the open now.

A short while ago my friend baked some spinach and ricotta and some date and pancetta muffins. They were superb but I just knew they wouldn’t get eaten in my house so I searched around for some ‘plainer’ recipes.

The first muffin search term I used was ‘Marmite muffins’ as it’s an ingredient we always have in the house. I used the recipe from this website: Cheese and marmite savoury muffins

They were so easy to make and turned out like this:

20120825-083425.jpg

As I had friends over of an indoor picnic I decided to try another batch of something a bit different. Meet my cheese and bacon muffins:

20120825-083530.jpg

This is the recipe I followed: Cheese and bacon muffins

Inside they looked like this:

20120825-083800.jpg

They were deliciously light and had just the right amount of each ingredient to flavour the muffin. I’ll admit that I haven’t been brave enough to steer away from cheese based muffins, but who knows. It’s a bank holiday weekend and we’ve got a trip to the airport tomorrow so I may just have to whip up a batch of savoury breakfast muffins trying a new recipe! I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

